La méthode Fit Active

Promote autonomy and independence through physical activity, for older adults living in residences

About

The Fit Active Method identifies the different levels of functional abilities of older adults. Aging affects the human body in every major bodily systems: from mental health to physical health. Fit Active method is here to share the benefits of physical activity in a safe, accessible and inclusive way.

  • Weekly group training sessions offered by certified trainers

  • Break the social isolation of seniors by creating safe spaces of belonging.

Our Story

From her past as a Canadian national athlete, the founder has spent considerable time in fitness centers. Now retired from competitive sport but still active, it was brought to her attention that more and more seniors want to train but find it difficult to find anything that applies to their needs. There are “Gold” versions of conventional workouts, but the strength of the Fit Active Method is its muscular endurance component, which aims to slow down or even reverse the negative effects of the aging body. The Fit Active Method is a training method designed for the specific needs and concerns of older adults. Training is provided by certified professionals specialized in physical activity for seniors.

Lindsay Belzie
Founder of the Fit Active Method

Programs

The relationship between living well and our physical abilities are very strong. It can be difficult to incorporate exercise as aging impacts our overall quality of life. A lack of exercise accompanied by a sedentary lifestyle also affects our mood, self-confidence and long-term health. Some of the benefits, to name a few, of physical activity are prolonging autonomy, independence and slowing down the body’s aging process.

The Active Fit method is a program specifically designed for seniors. We offer a variety of effective workout plans and work with seniors to workouts. In addition to physical fitness, we incorporate an activity of daily living (ADL) component and neuroplasticity exercises because it is important to stay mobile and healthy, well into old age.

Weekly group workouts led by a certified trainer Weekly assessments to track progress Workshops on fall prevention, etc. Quarterly individual consultations with the multidisciplinary team The use of basic equipment such as kettle bells and dumbbells etc.

  • Weekly group training sessions headed by a certified training

  • Weekly evaluation to monitor progress

  • Four workshops on fall prevention, stress management, flexibility and the importance of movement

  • Quarterly individual consultations with a trainer and nutrition coach

  • The use of basic equipment such as kettlebells and dumbbells etc.

Contact

  • info@fitactivemethod.com

  • 514-713-4470

  • If you are interested in joining our team, fill out the form and attach your CV.

La méthode Fit Active

Promouvoir l’autonomie et l’indépendance à travers l’activité physique, chez des séniors vivant en résidence, des retraités et pré-retraités.

À propos

La Méthode Fit Active identifie les différents niveaux de capacités fonctionnelles de la population séniors. Le vieillissement affecte le corps humain dans chacun des principaux systèmes corporels: de votre santé mentale à votre santé physique. La méthode Fit Active a pour mission de partager les bienfaits de l’activité physique de façon sécuritaire, accessible et inclusive.

  • Vieillir avec Plaisir grâce des entraînements de groupes hebdomadaires dirigés par un entraîneur personnel certifié

  • Briser l’isolement social des aînées en créant des lieux d’appartenance.

Notre histoire

De son passé d’athlète nationale canadienne, la fondatrice a passé beaucoup de temps dans les centres de conditionnement physique. Aujourd’hui retraitée du sport de compétition mais toujours active, elle constate que de plus en plus de seniors veulent s’entraîner mais ne trouvent rien qui s’applique à leurs besoins. Il existe des versions  »Gold » des entraînements conventionnels mais la force de la méthode Fit Active est son volet endurance musculaire qui a pour but de ralentir voir renverser les effets du corps vieillissant. La méthode Fit Active est une méthode d’entraînement conçue pour les besoins et les préoccupations spécifiques des personnes âgées. Les entraînements sont dispensées par des professionnels certifiés spécialisés dans l’activité physique des seniors.

Lindsay Belzie
Fondatrice de la Méthode Fit Active

Programmes

La relation entre bien vivre et nos capacités physiques est bien forte. Il peut être difficile d’intégrer l’exercice lorsque le vieillissement a une influence sur notre qualité de vie globale. Ce même manque d’exercice accompagné d’un mode de vie sédentaire affecte aussi l’humeur, la confiance en soi et la santé à long terme. Les avantages de l’activité physique sont de prolonger l’autonomie, l’indépendance et de ralentir le processus de vieillissement de l’organisme.

La méthode Fit active est un programme spécialement conçu pour les seniors. Nous proposons une variété de plans d’entraînements efficaces et nous travaillons en collaboration avec des personnes âgées afin de personnaliser les entraînements. Outre la forme physique, nous avons pris en compte une composante d’activité de la vie quotidienne (AVQ) et des exercices de neuroplasticité parce qu’il est important de rester mobile et en santé, jusqu’à un âge avancé.

Des entraînements de groupes hebdomadaires dirigés par un entraîneur personnel certifié Évaluations hebdomadaires pour suivre les progrès Des ateliers sur la prévention des chutes, etc. Consultations individuelles trimestrielles avec l’équipe mutidipliscinaire L’utilisation d’ équipements de base tels que des kettlebells et des haltères etc.

  • Des entraînements de groupes hebdomadaires dirigés par un entraîneur personnel certifié

  • Évaluations hebdomadaires pour suivre les progrès

  • Quatre ateliers sur la prévention des chutes, la réduction du stress, la flexibilité et l’importance du mouvement

  • Consultations individuelles trimestrielles avec un entraîneur et un coach en nutrition

  • L’utilisation d’ équipements de base tels que des kettlebells et des haltères etc.

Contact

  • info@fitactivemethod.com

  • 514-713-4470

  • Si vous êtes intéressé à rejoindre notre équipe, remplissez le formulaire et joignez votre CV.